Virchow Foundation

für Globale Gesundheit

TEAM

Die Geschäftsleitung der Stiftung dient als zentrale Anlaufstelle. Es führt die operativen Geschäfte der Virchow-Stiftung für globale Gesundheit und des Virchow-Preises für globale Gesundheit. Das Team unterstützt außerdem das Kuratorium und den Stiftungsvorstand.

GESCHÄFTSLEITUNG

Victoria Grandsoult

Geschäftsführerin

Victoria verfügt über einen vielseitigen Hintergrund in den Bereichen Public Health und Menschenrechte. Zuletzt war sie als Beraterin für Kunden aus der Industrie und dem Bereich globale Gesundheit tätig. Dort unterstützte Victoria bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Strategien für politisches Engagement. Davor leitete sie die gemeinnützige Organisation UNITE, welche sich bei Parlamentariern für die Beseitigung von Infektionskrankheiten und die nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele der UN einsetzt. Zuvor arbeitet Victoria mehrere Jahre in unterschiedlichen Positionen im Children’s Hospital Los Angeles. Dort war sie für die Geschäftsentwicklung und den Beziehungen zu Ärzt:innen zuständig. Sie unterstütze außerdem maßgeblich bei der Umsetzung des ersten pädiatrischen Gesundheitsplans von Los Angeles.

Victoria hat einen Master-Abschluss in Human Rights & Democratisiation vom Global Campus of Human Rights und einen Abschluss in Psychologie von der University of Kansas.

Akademische und berufliche Laufbahn

  • 2021: Account Manager | Sovereign Strategy
  • 2020: Executive Director | UNITE Global Parliamentarians Network
  • 2019-2020: Advocacy and Community Engagement Director | UNITE Global Parliamentarians Network
  • 2017-2019: European Master in Human Rights & Democratisation | Global Campus of Human Rights
  • 2016-2017: Senior Physician Liaison | Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
  • 2014-2016: Outreach Specialist | Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
  • 2011-2013: Research Assistant | Phoenix Children’s Hospital
  • 2007-2011: Bachelor of Arts in Psychology | University of Kansas

Dr. Annette Welling

Programme Director

Annette hat nach ihrer Ausbildung zur Hotelfachfrau im renommierten Hotel “Vier Jahreszeiten” in Hamburg ein Studium der Sprachen, Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Kulturraum angefangen. Danach arbeitete sie in verschiedenen Non-Profit Organisationen und sammelte langjährige Erfahrungen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kultur, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Sie hat an Themen wie Sponsoring, zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement, Kulturförderung, Non-Profit-Management und Corporate Citizenship gearbeitet und publiziert.

Seit 2014 ist Annette selbstständig und berät mehrere Non-Profit   Organisationen aus den Bereichen Wissenschaft und Kultur in strategischen, inhaltlichen und operativen Fragen, u.a. im Office Management.

Akademische und berufliche Laufbahn

  • Seit 2014: Selbstständig, Beratung verschiedener Non-Profit-Organisationen im Bereich Wissenschaft und Kultur
  • 2015: Promotion über Förder- und Freundschaftskreise an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg. Seitdem Lehrbeauftragte am Institut für Kultur- und Medienmanagement an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg.
  • 2003 – 2014: Leiterin der internen und externen Kommunikation beim Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V., Berlin
  • 2000-2003: Referentin im Arbeitskreis Kultursponsoring, einer Initiative der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V., Berlin

Weitere Tätigkeiten

  • Seit 2021: Mitglied des Kuratoriums Berliner Wissenschaftsjahr 2021
  • Seit 2019: Mitglied der Prüfungskommission für den Fernstudiengang Kultur- und Medienmanagement | Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg
  • Seit 2015: Mentorin an der Grundschule “Koppenplatz Berlin” für syrische Flüchtlingskinder

Steffi Gasteiger

Communication & Partnerships Manager

Steffi hat ihren Bachelor und Master in “Health Sciences – Prevention and Health Promotion” an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) absolviert. Während ihres Studiums sammelte sie Berufserfahrung als Praktikantin und Werkstudentin in verschiedenen Industrien und Abteilungen. Anschließend trat sie ihre erste Vollzeitstelle bei einem kleinen Startup-Accelerator als Business Development Manager an. Zu ihren Hauptaufgaben gehörte es, sich auf das Wachstum verschiedener neuer Gründungen zu konzentrieren, einschließlich Social Media Marketing, Recruiting und dem operativen Geschäft.

Seit sie bei der Virchow-Stiftung für Globale Gesundheit arbeitet, kann Steffi sich mehr auf die Kombination ihrer Leidenschaften konzentrieren: die Förderung der Bedeutung eines interdisziplinären Fokus auf Gesundheit, Forschung und soziale Medien.

Akademische und berufliche Aktivitäten

  • 2022: Business Development Manager I Vertic Ventures GmbH
  • 2021 – 2022: Praktikum als Founder’s Associate I Vertic Ventures GmbH
  • 2020 – 2021: Werkstudentin Sales Mass Market I GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare, L.P.
  • 2018 – 2020: Werkstudentin Medical Affairs Operations I Celgene Corporation – Bristol Myers Squibb Company
  • 2017 – 2018: Personalabteilung Werkstudentin und Praktikantin I CLEVIS Research GmbH
  • 2016 – 2017: Studentische Hilfskraft I Technische Universität München
  • 2015 – 2018: Bachelor of Science – Gesundheitswissenschaften I Technische Universität München
  • 2018 – 2022: Master of Science – Health Sciences I Technische Universität München

Dr. Harald Hasselmann

Chair, Friends of the Virchow Foundation

Nach seiner Promotion in Wirtschaftswissenschaften sammelte Dr. Harald Hasselmann Erfahrung in verschiedenen internationalen Pharmaunternehmen. Er war Leiter Finance & Controlling für Europa bei Bayer Pharma, Geschäftsführer der ungarischen Tochtergesellschaft von Schering und Direktor des Berliner Biotech-Unternehmens metaGen. Harald Hasselmann war in verschiedenen Positionen in großen und mittelständischen Unternehmen der Gesundheitsbranche tätig und verfügt über einen reichen  Erfahrungsschatz in den Bereichen Vertrieb, Controlling sowie Umsetzung von Umstrukturierungsmaßnahmen. Im Oktober 2015 wurde Dr. Harald Hasselmann Geschäftsführer für Vertrieb und Finanzen bei Eckert & Ziegler BEBIG, im Januar 2017 wurde er zum Mitglied des Vorstandes von Eckert & Ziegler AG berufen.

Harald Hasselmann übt eine Reihe ehrenamtlicher Tätigkeiten aus. So ist er Mitglied im Vorstand der Rotary Club Berlin Stiftung, Vorsitzender des Gesundheitsforums des VBKI sowie Mitglied im Gesundheitsausschuss der IHK Berlin.

Harald Hasselmann ist verheiratet und lebt mit seiner Frau und vier Kindern in Berlin.

Akademische und berufliche Laufbahn

  • Seit 2017: Vorstandsmitglied I Eckert & Ziegler BEBIG GmbH
  • Seit 2015: Geschäftsführer I Eckert & Ziegler AG
  • 2012 – 2015: Geschäftsführender Direktor I Franziskus Hospital
  • 2007 – 2012: Leiter Geschäftsplanung / Administration für Europa / Kanada I Bayer Pharma AG
  • 2004 – 2006: Geschäftsführender Direktor I Schering Kft
  • 2001 – 2003: Finanzvorstand I metaGen Pharmaceuticals
  • 1995 – 2000: Manager Finanzen und Leiter der Preispolitik für Europa I Schering AG
  • 1990 – 1993: Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre (Dipl. Kaufmann) I Technische Universität Berlin und Universität Lüneburg
  • 1993 – 1994: Promotion zum Dr. rer. oec. I Technischen Universität Berlin

Virchow Foundation

for Global Health

SECRETARIAT

The Foundation Secretariat serves as the central point of contact. It manages the operations of the Virchow Foundation for Global Health and the Virchow Prize for Global Health. It also supports the Foundation’s Board of Trustees and Council.

TEAM

Victoria Grandsoult

Managing Director

Victoria comes from a varied background within the fields of public health and human rights. Recently, she was a consultant supporting the development and execution of political engagement strategies for global health and industry clients. Prior to this, she managed the non-profit organisation, UNITE, which engages parliamentarians on infectious disease elimination and the UN Sustainable Development Goals. Victoria previously held multiple positions at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, where she oversaw physician relations and business development, including supporting the implementation of LA’s first paediatric health plan.

Victoria holds a master’s degree in Human Rights and Democratisation from the Global Campus of Human Rights and a degree in Psychology from the University of Kansas.

Academic and Professional Activities

    • 2021: Account Manager | Sovereign Strategy
    • 2020: Executive Director | UNITE Global Parliamentarians Network
    • 2019-2020: Advocacy and Community Engagement Director | UNITE Global Parliamentarians Network
    • 2017-2019: European Master in Human Rights & Democratisation | Global Campus of Human Rights
    • 2016-2017: Senior Physician Liaison | Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
    • 2014-2016: Outreach Specialist | Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
    • 2011-2013: Research Assistant | Phoenix Children’s Hospital
    • 2007-2011: Bachelor of Arts in Psychology | University of Kansas

Dr. Annette Welling

Programme Director

Annette studied languages, economics and cultural area studies at the University of Passau after completing her hotel management apprenticeship at the Grandhotel “Vier Jahreszeiten” in Hamburg. She then worked in various non-profit organisations, gathered many years of experience on the interface between culture, science and business. She has worked and published on the topics of sponsorship, civil society engagement, cultural funding, non-profit management and corporate citizenship. Since 2014, Annette is self-employed and advising several non-profit organisations in the fields of science and culture on their strategic, content-related and operational issues, including office management.

Academic and Professional Activities

  • Since 2014: Self-employed, advising various non-profit organisations in the field of science and culture
  • 2015: Phd on Funding- and Friendship-Circles at the University of Music and Theatre, Hamburg. Since then, lecturer at the Institute for Culture and Media Management at the University of Music and Theatre in Hamburg
  • 2003 – 2014: Head of Internal and External Communication at the Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V. (Cultural Association of German Business within the Federation of German Industries), Berlin
  • 2000-2003: Consultant in the Cultural Sponsorship Working Group, an initiative of German companies within the BDI e.V., Berlin

Further activities:

  • Since 2021: Member of the Board of Trustees | Berlin Science Year 2021
  • Since 2019: Member of the Examination Board for the Distance Learning Programme in Culture and Media Management | University of Music Theatre Hamburg
  • Since 2015: Mentor at primary school “Koppenplatz Berlin” for Syrian refugee children

Steffi Gasteiger

Communication & Partnerships Manager

Steffi did her bachelor’s and master’s degree in “Health Sciences – Prevention and Health Promotion” at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). During her studies she gained professional experience as an intern and a working student in various industries and departments. She then started her first full-time position at a small startup accelerator as a Business Development Manager. Main responsibilities included focusing on the growth of various new businesses including social media marketing, recruiting and operations.

Since joining the Virchow Foundation for Global Health, Steffi is able to concentrate more on the combination of her passions: the promotion of the importance of an interdisciplinary focus on health, research and social media.

Academic and Professional Activities

  • 2022: Business Development Manager I Vertic Ventures GmbH
  • 2021 – 2022: Founder’s Associate internship I Vertic Ventures GmbH
  • 2020 – 2021: Working student Sales Mass Market I GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare, L.P.
  • 2018 – 2020: Working student Medical Affairs Operations I Celgene Corporation – Bristol Myers Squibb Company
  • 2017 – 2018: HR department working student and internship I CLEVIS Research GmbH
  • 2016 – 2017: Student Assistant I Technical University of Munich
  • 2015 – 2018: Bachelor of Science – Gesundheitswissenschaften I Technical University of Munich
  • 2018 – 2022: Master of Science – Health Sciences I Technical University of Munich

Dr. Harald Hasselmann

Chair, Friends of the Virchow Foundation

After completing his doctorate studies in economics Dr. Harald Hasselmann gained experience at various international pharmaceutical companies. He was head of Finance & Controlling for Europe at Bayer Pharma, managing director at Schering’s Hungarian subsidiary and director of the Berlin-based biotech company metaGen. He has held various positions in large and medium-sized healthcare companies and has an excellent track record in sales, controlling and implementing restructuring measures. With effect from October 1, 2015, Dr. Harald Hasselmann became Managing Director for Sales and Finances at Eckert & Ziegler BEBIG. In January 2017 he was recruited as a member of the Executive Board of Eckert & Ziegler AG.

Harald Hasselmann carries out a number of voluntary activities. He is a member of the board of directors of the Rotary Club Berlin Foundation, chairman of the health forum of the VBKI and a member of the health committee of the Berlin Chamber of Industry and Commerce.

Harald Hasselmann is married and lives in Berlin with his wife and four children.

Academic and Professional Activities

  • Since 2017: Executive Director I Eckert & Ziegler BEBIG GmbH
  • Since 2015: Managing Director I Eckert & Ziegler AG
  • 2012 – 2015: Chief Executive Director I Franziskus Hospital
  • 2007 – 2012: Head of Business Planning / Administration for Europe / Canada I Bayer Pharma AG
  • 2004 – 2006: Chief Executive Director I Schering Kft
  • 2001 – 2003: Chief Financial Director I metaGen Pharmaceuticals
  • 1995 – 2000: Manager Finance and Head of Price Policy for Europe I Schering AG
  • 1990 – 1993: Degree of Business Administration I Technical University of Berlin and University Lüneburg
  • 1993 – 1994: PhD of Business Administration (Dr. rer oec) I Technical University Berlin